Although with a slightly reduced team of only 6 players this year, on 28th September, once again the Lightmongers just managed to overcome the Tallow Chandlers at Beaconsfield Golf Club, with a result of 3½ to 2½ to retain the Arrow Cup.

The team this year was: Matthew Harding, Simon Hobbs, Gerry O’Donnell, Roger Rawson, John Smith and John Otten.

  • Roger Rawson won the Master’s Cup
  • Simon Hobbs won the mounted Stan Brain Niblick

The Arrow Cup was given by Mike Keevill and Stanley Brain (Pat Brain’s husband) of Arrow Plastics in 1988 and has been played for every year since. Hence this is the 28th year, the statistics are:

Tallow Chandlers won it 12 times
Lightmongers won it 10 times
Halved matches 6